Featured on House of Gharats

From Internship to Part Time Freelance.

While I’m still on the early stages of blogging, I thought this might be a good time to talk a little about the underlying story on how I decided to make a switch from fashion to graphic design.

Funny that I first applied for the internship as a copywriter, only to end up discovering a whole new field of design. Daunting as it may seem in the beginning, for I was pretty shocked at the amount of work needed to be done, it has made me realise that just perhaps, I might be somewhat of a natural at picking up anything techy. Considering how much time I had spent googling plug ins, and reading about WordPress (and here I am using it now, surprise, surprise!), or foreign things I’ve never came across before like Gravityforms and other slightly more boring details, it’s amazing that everything came together in six weeks.

I’m sure you would all know the feeling of not knowing where to start, or perhaps even the thought of completing something without any basic knowledge, but all it took was six weeks of some intense focus, reading and plenty of motivational support from Neishaa, founder of the House of Gharats.

It went from essential reading of knowing the basics to a still ongoing hobby. I would not necessarily even call it a job because of how much fun it was. Yes, sitting in front of a screen, fixing HTML/CSS codes, image editing and experimenting with WordPress for the whole day, (with plenty of coffee and snacks), with some classical music going in the background, you would be surprised how productive the days actually were, contrary to what many think about mixing play with work.

So I guess that’s how everything started. Just six weeks of an amazing experience with some wonderful people.

Cassandra-Tang-House-Of-Gharats-Feature

Read about it at House of Gharats.

 

Leave a comment